Which cabbing machine should a beginner buy?
For a first machine, look hard at the Highland Park CB6V. It's $1,437.30 right now ($1,597 list), it comes with six wheels, and the one thing the $2,560.50 CB8V clearly adds is a bigger motor. Whether you need that depends on the stones you cut.
Neither machine has been tested for this site. The specs below come from Highland Park's product pages and the CB6V manual, read on Nov 4, 2026. Where a page doesn't say, the table says "not stated."
Side by side
| What | CB6V | CB8V |
|---|---|---|
| List price | $1,597.00 | $2,845.00 |
| Price on Nov 4, 2026 (10% Black Friday discount) | $1,437.30 | $2,560.50 |
| Motor | 1/2 horsepower, brushless DC, variable speed | 1 horsepower, variable speed, 0 to 1725 RPM |
| Speed range | 0 to 1725 RPM (manual) | 0 to 1725 RPM |
| Wheels included | 6: two plated grinding (80, 220), four resin (280, 600, 1200, 3000) | 6: same grits |
| Wheel diameter | 6 inches (manual) | Not stated |
| Frame | 14-gauge 304 stainless steel | 14-gauge 304 stainless steel |
| Water | Drip feed, two drains | Drip feed, two drains |
| Also in the box | Gooseneck LED lamp, leather and felt buffing disks | Gooseneck LED lamp, leather and felt buffing disks |
| Weight | 78 lb (manual only) | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page |
Sources: CB6V product page, CB8V product page, cabbing machine collection, CB6V manual (PDF). All read Nov 4, 2026. The product pages and the collection page agree on both prices.
What the extra $1,123 buys
At Nov 4 sale prices the CB8V costs $1,123.20 more than the CB6V ($1,248 more at list). Both have the same six grits, the same frame and the same water system. The difference Highland Park actually states is motor power: 1 horsepower against 1/2.
A bigger motor helps when you push big or hard stones against the wheel. A beginner cutting small agate and jasper is unlikely to hit the limit of a 1/2 horsepower motor before hitting the limit of their own technique. That's this site's judgment, not something either page says. If you plan to cut large pieces, or you already know you'll be at this for years, the CB8V might make sense. Otherwise, start with the CB6V.
How the price compares with other brands
Kingsley North, a lapidary retailer, lists these cabbing machines. Only prices were taken, not specs, so don't read this as a feature comparison. It's here so you can see where the Highland Park machines sit.
| Machine | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Kingsley North Cabber 8x4 Basic | $1,099.00 | Listed as "No Wheels" |
| Kingsley North Cabber 6 (Rev 2) | $1,499.00 | |
| CabKing 6V3 | $1,499.00 | |
| Covington 8" Expando Drum Unit | $1,698.80 | |
| Diamond Pacific G2 Genie | $2,426.50 | |
| CabKing 8V1 | $2,499.00 |
The CB6V at its Nov 4 sale price is $61.70 under the $1,499 six-inch machines. At its $1,597 list price it's $98 over them. So the sale is what makes it the cheaper one, and Highland Park doesn't say how long the sale runs.
Source: Kingsley North cabbing machines, read Nov 4, 2026. That page doesn't list wheel counts, wheel sizes or motor sizes.
What couldn't be confirmed
- Wheel width. The CB6V product page talks about 1.5-inch-wide wheels. The manual says the 80 and 220 grinding wheels are 2 inches wide and the resin wheels 1.5. Those don't match, so no width is printed here.
- Power supply. The manual says 110V in one place and 120V in another. Both mean a normal household outlet, but neither should be quoted as exact.
- CB8V wheel size. The page calls it an "8 inch machine" but never gives the wheel diameter.
- Warranty. Both pages link to a warranty section. The terms weren't on the pages that could be read. Ask before you buy.
A cheaper way in
If $1,437 is more than you want to risk on a hobby you haven't tried, a used two-wheel unit is the usual answer on the forums. One poster there says switching from silicon carbide wheels to diamond at least halved their cab cutting time, which is a reason to look for a used machine that takes diamond wheels. That's one person's experience. Thread, read Nov 4, 2026.
Next: which wheel goes in which order, or add up the full cost.
Page updated 2026-11-04. Prices on this site were read Nov 4, 2026.